Pilot (Commercial/Private) & Flight Training (Commercial/Private)

CAA SkyWise on Pilot (Commercial/Private) & Flight Training (Commercial/Private)


Identification requirement for flight crew licensing applications
This notification updates and replaces the information sent on 4 May 2018 as SW2018/75.
Pilots should be aware that for some applications you are required to submit proof of identity (ID) to support their applications. A certified copy or a passport or photo driving licence will be accepted. Please refer to our website for more information on who can certify your documents.
Dated: August 2019

Using your National licence to fly G-reg EASA aircraft in the UK
Pilots that hold a LAPL may continue to fly a UK registered aeroplane or Touring Motor Glider (TMG) with an EASA Certificate of Airworthiness or EASA Permit to Fly.
An exemption set out in ORS4 1293 has been replaced by derogation ORS4 1309. This continues to allow holders of an appropriate UK National licence to exercise the privileges of a Part-FCL LAPL.
The derogation meets the requirements of relevant National legislation and will remain effective until 8 April 2020. Licencing arrangements beyond 2020 are not yet in place, but this is something we are working on.
Dated: July 2019

Operational rules for Sailplanes
EASA have published a Sailplane rule book for EASA Sailplanes.
These new rules come into effect on 9th July 2019.
It is important that pilots familiarise themselves and understand the rules, as all pilots must operate the Sailplanes in accordance with the requirements set out within.
For further information please see the CAA webpage.
Dated: July 2019

Licensing – IR PBN privileges on aircraft not certified to conduct RNP APCH
The latest guidance for examiners when conducting instrument rating (IR) revalidations or renewals to include performance based navigation (PBN) privileges when the aircraft type/class is not certified to conduct required navigation procedure approach (RNP APCH) is available on the CAA website.
Dated: June 2019

Multi-Pilot Helicopter Type Ratings – prerequisite experience
To obtain a multi-pilot type rating for helicopters, an applicant for their first multi pilot type rating must have a minimum amount of MCC experience or have completed the required MCC training in helicopters at an ATO as part of, or prior to starting, a multi-pilot helicopter type rating course.
Applicants who have completed an MCC Aeroplane course shall be exempted the 25 hours of theoretical knowledge instruction and exercises of the MCC Helicopter course requirements.
This credit provision is set out in FCL.735.H(d)
For further information refer to: https://www.caa.co.uk/General-aviation/Pilot-licences/Applications/Ratings/Initial-issue-of-a-multi-pilot-helicopter-type-rating/
Dated: June 2019

Application inaccuracies leading to the incorrect issue of ratings
The CAA have observed that some applicants are failing to provide up to date information regarding ratings with their licensing application e.g. applicants are either providing an old copy of their licence with their application or are failing to inform us following an LPC.
If a licence has been issued with incorrect information, we will not automatically reissue the licence. You will be required to submit another application and pay the relevant fee (currently £93) to have your licence reissued. We will have to assess the new paperwork and update our records, this new application will be processed within our current turnaround time.
Dated: May 2019

Continuation of the IMC or IR(R) rating
With the implementation of Commission Implementing Regulation (amendment) 2019/430 revising Article 4(8) to the EASA Aircrew Regulations, the CAA will continue to endorse the Instrument Rating (Restricted) (IR(R)) rating on UK CAA issued EASA PPL(A), CPL(A), MPL(A) and ATPL(A) licences until 8 April 2021.
The IR(R) may not be endorsed on Part-FCL licences issued by other EASA Member States.
Details of the Flight Test for the rating is included in Standards Document 25.
Dated: May 2019